Cyclades Islands
Cyclades Islands: image 1 0f 4 Cyclades Islands: image 2 0f 4 Cyclades Islands: image 3 0f 4 Cyclades Islands: image 4 0f 4

Cyclades Islands

The Cyclades Islands cluster is a group of Greek Islands situated in the deep blue Aegean Sea. They are considered one of the finest vacation destinations worldwide, providing visitors with a wide range of diverse characteristics. They are composed of 39 islands of which 24 are inhabited. The Cyclades are the most famous of all Greek islands with Amorgos, Anafi, Andros, Antiparos, Delos, Ios, Kea, Kimolos, Folegandros, Milos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini, Serifos, Sikinos, Sifnos, Syros and Tinos . The islands are peaks of a submerged mountainous terrain, with the exception of two volcanic islands, Milos and Santorini (Thera).

All Cycladic Islands share some distinctive features, such as the renowned Cycladic architecture , narrow cobblestone alleyways, fascinating archaeological, historical, religious and natural sights, quaint seaside and mountain villages and endless beaches. Each island though has several specific characteristics that make it stand out from the rest, making the islands absolutely unique, each in its own way. Here one can find vivid cosmopolitan nightlife and at the same time tranquillity and peace

Above all, the people who live here, with their own individual approach to the world, bring to life the narrow alleyways of the villages and the pathways of the countryside, the countless tiny chapels, the windmills, the dovecotes or the wind-beaten hillsides and are themselves a basic feature of the charm which these possess.

The Cycladic islands enjoy a Mediterranean climate, with an average temperature for the year of 18 - 19C. The winters are mild and the summers - by Greek standards - cool, thanks to the beneficial effects of the seasonal winds known as the 'meltemia'.